The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Great success for IARU Region 1

During the last week of September 2005 two ECC Recommendations affecting amateur radio were adopted. After years of work both within and outside of IARU Region 1, it was possible for our ERC Chairman Hans Blondeel Timmerman PB2T in WGFM and for the Chairman of our the Region 1 RRWG Bob Whelan G3PJT in WGRA to see these two recommendations adopted allowing extra facilities for radio amateurs within part of IARU Region 1

ECC/REC 05-05 “Early access for the Amateur service to the band 7100 - 7200 kHz” gives administrations within CEPT the opportunity to allow stations in the Amateur Service to use the band 7100 - 7200 kHz on a secondary basis provided that the transmitter output power does not exceed 24 dBW (250 Watts). See for the full text of this recommendation.

ECC/REC 05-06 “CEPT Novice Radio Amateur Licence” recognises the principle of a CEPT Novice Radio Amateur Licence on which the administrations of the CEPT countries visited will not levy administrative charges or spectrum fees. Administrations, not being members of CEPT, that accept the provisions of this Recommendation, may apply for participation. See for the full text of this recommendation.