The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Changes in Bulgarian Amateur Radio General Licence

(IARU-R1) September 2004

The Bulgarian regulatory body, Communications Regulation Commission, announced in the State Gazette No 75 on 27 August 2004 some changes in Bulgarian Amateur Radio General Licence. They became effective immediately.

The main points are:
  • No more Morse code requirement.
  • The number of classes of amateur licence has been decreased to two:
    Class 2 (national class) - VHF only, Modes: AM, FM, SSB, Packet, power up to 5 W
  • Class 1 (CEPT class) – All bands, All modes, power up to 350 W HF, 100 W VHF, 10 W UHF. Power up to 1000 W allowed only during HF contests, only to Radio Amateurs with at least 5 years experience