The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Zimbabwe QSL bureau closes

At a ZARS Council meeting held 3 May 2004 ZARS took the decision to close the Zimbabwe QSL Bureau. This is simply due to the excessive cost of services that are now prevalent in Zimbabwe. The main cost is for the posting of cards to the various bureau around the world. This is coupled with a declining number of members such that reasonable subscriptions can no longer support the costs of running the bureau.

ZARS has recommended to members that QSL managers be sought if they do not already have a manager. A number have taken up the suggestion and arrangements have been made.

Member societies should note this information and advise their QSL managers accordingly.Zimbabwe