The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Jan Verduijn awarded the IARU Region 1 Medal

Jan Verduijn awarded the IARU Region 1 Medal

At the VERON Dag voor de Amateur, Jan Verduijn (pictured right) from the Radiocommunication Agency Netherlands was awarded the IARU Region 1 Medal. The Medal and Certificate was presented by the IARU Region 1 Chairman Ole Garpestad, LA2RR (pictured left) at the VERON Dag voor de Amateur.

Jan, who was CEPT coordinator and spokesman for agenda item 1.23 (7 MHz) at the WRC-03 was given this honour in recognition of his outstanding work in preparation and during the World Radiocommunication Conference 2003.

Jan was totally committed to finding a solution, not only for radio amateurs but for broadcasters and the fixed and mobile services as well. His dedication, extremely hard work and not forgetting his outstanding diplomatic skills were a major contribution to the successful outcome of WRC-2003 Agenda Item 1.23 for the Amateur Radio Community.