The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Licensing in Kenya

Licensing procedures in Kenya are currently (August 2003) under active review by the Communications Commission, following many years of complaints, and it is hoped to get a decision in the next few weeks.

In the meantime only foreign amateurs whose countries of citizenship have reciprocal agreements may apply and be considered.

The review will probably also consider the Morse requirement which is expected to be dropped, as well as Police (involving fingerprints for local citizens and Police Certificates of Good Conduct for visitors) and Security vetting.

The impossible requirement for visitors to provide two local referees (to ensure good conduct on the air) has also been brought to their attention.