The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

ATU preparation for WRC-12

The ITU Radiocommunication Bureau, in collaboration with Africa Telecommunication Union (ATU), is organizing an ITU Meeting on WRC‑12 preparations. In addition to the information relating to the Bureau's and regional preparations for WRC-12, this meeting will allow regional groups to present any of their preliminary views with respect to WRC‑12 Agenda items. It will also provide participants the opportunity to exchange information and views on the preliminary draft common proposals and positions of other regional groups and those of some organizations.

Tafa DIOP, 6W1KI -IARU Region 1 Vice president registered under  ATU, will  represent  IARU at  that important meeting.