The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

South Africa gets access to 7 000 kHz - 7 200 kHz

South African Radio Amateurs now have full access to the 40 metre band.  Today's Government Gazette has amended Annexure G of the Radio Regulations as follows:  The Amateur Radio allocation of the 40 metre band is now 7 000 kHz - 7 200 kHz 

ZR Licencees may now use more of the 20 metre band.  The new allocations is 14 225 - 14 350 kHz.