The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Slovak Amateur Radio Stations now have access to 70 MHz

SARA LogoAs of May 1st, 2009 Slovak Amateur Radio stations have an access to 70 MHz band (Segment 70,250 - 70,350 MHz):

- Max. 10 W ERP
- Extra class only
- Each station must apply for a special permission for 70 MHz

For more information contact SLOVAK AMATEUR RADIO ASSOCIATION (SARA) .