The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.


The 2009 Annual General Meeting of the Irish Radio Transmitters Society (IRTS) took place on Sunday 26th April in Athlone in the centre of Ireland.   The outgoing President Father Finbarr Buckley EI1CS reported a successful year with an increase in membership to 974.   This represents a good proportion of the estimated 1,500 radio amateurs licensed in Ireland.

There was very good support for the IARU and the incoming President, Paul Martin EI2CA stated that this would continue.   Paul will serve a 3 year term in this office.

On spectrum matters a licence issued to IRTS will soon permit a limited number of amateurs access to a segment around 500 kHz while Irish amateurs now enjoy Amateur Primary status between 7000 - 7200 kHz.   IRTS continues to liaise with regulator COMREG on a number of other matters concerning the amateur services.

The subject of increasing EMC pollution was also discussed and it is hoped to start a database of complaints received and the outcome of these complaints.

IRTS took part in Engineer Ireland\'s Week of Wonder.   Over 450 young people took part in 17 IRTS workshops held in 6 locations around the country.

In addition to new President Paul Martin EI2CA, Seamus McCague EI8BP was elected Vice-President together with committee members Pat Fitzpatrick EI2HX, Sean Donelan EI4GK, Ger McNamara EI4GXB, James Holohan EI4HH, Peter Grant EI4HX, Brendan Minish EI6IZ, Mark Condon EI6JK, Joe Ryan EI7GY, Ger Gervin EI8CC, Charlie Carolan EI8JB and Pat O'Connor EI9HX.

The AGM was preceded by a well attended dinner held in the evening of Saturday 25th April and a trade show on the Sunday.

IARU Region 1 and the RSGB was represented by Executive Committee member Colin Thomas G3PSM. 

More details of IRTS can be found at