The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

African Telecommunications Union meets in South Africa

The ATU African Preparatory Meeting (APM) prior to WRC 19 takes place 26-30 August. ATU is one of the four Regional Telecommunications Organisations in Region 1 and IARU will be present at the meeting. IARU has particular interest in the following issues being discussed:

  • 50 MHz: IARU hopes that the APM will build on existing provisions in the ITU Radio regulations for a number of African countries, to support 50 MHz primary allocations throughout the African continent, as part of the support for a Region-wide allocation to the amateur service harmonising with the allocations already in place in Regions 2 and 3.
  • 5 GHz and 47 GHz bands: IARU will be seeking support from Region 1 administrations for a ‘No change’ approach to the current regulatory situation in the 5650-5850 MHz and 47-47.2 GHz frequency bands.
  • There is no evidence yet that the 144-146 MHz and 1240-1300 MHz band issues being considered in CEPT will be discussed in the APM but IARU will be prepared should this happen.