The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

New Prefix for Bosnia-Herzegovina Officially Announced

In August, in response to a request from the Ministry of Communications and Transport of Bosnia and Herzegovina, the International Telecommunication Union withdrew the call sign prefix allocation T9A-T9Z for Bosnia and Herzegovina and made a new allocation, E7A-E7Z. The change was made initially on a provisional basis under authority of the ITU Secretary-General and was confirmed by the 2007 World Radiocommunication Conference to be effective November 17, 2007.

On December 18 the Ministry of Communications and Transport held a press conference in Sarajevo to formally announce the change.


On December 18 the Ministry of Communications and Transport held a press conference in Sarajevo to formally announce the change. Minister Dr. Božo Ljubić explained the desirability of changing a prefix that initially was allocated during wartime and replacing it with one that has no connection to that troubled time. Similar steps have been taken with regard to passports, drivers’ licenses and automobile registrations. He observed that the costs associated with the change were minimal compared to the benefits. Amateur radio station licenses bearing E7 prefixes will be issued beginning in January 2008, and the use of other prefixes will be phased out.

International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) Secretary David Sumner, K1ZZ and IARU Region 1 President Ole Garpestad, LA2RR were invited to speak at the press conference. Accompanying them was IARU Region 1 Executive Committee member Nikola Perčin, 9A5W. They expressed congratulations and support for the change, which eliminates an issue that has complicated relations among the radio amateurs of Bosnia-Herzegovina.

The picture shows (L to R) the Minister, Dr Ljubić, with IARU Region 1 EC member Nikola Perčin, 9A5W, and IARU International Secretary David Sumner, K1ZZ

Also invited to speak was Miroslav Nikše, President of the Union of Radioamateur Associations of Bosnia and Herzegovina (URAS), a recently formed umbrella organization of amateur radio associations based in different parts of the country. He thanked those involved in promoting the change.

In his remarks, Dr. Ljubić pledged support from the Ministry of Communications and Transport to the umbrella organization for the development of amateur radio repeater and digital networks covering the whole of the country to enhance emergency communications capabilities.