The International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) is a federation of national associations of certified radio amateurs, representing over 150 countries and separate territories around the world.

The three IARU Regions are organised to broadly mirror the structure of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) and its related regional telecommunications organisations. The Regions comprise:
- IARU Region 1: Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Northern Asia
- IARU Region 2: The Americas
- IARU Region 3: Asia-Pacific

The IARU represents the interests of the Amateur Radio Service worldwide to relevant international organisations, promoting the interests of amateur radio and seeking to protect and enhance its spectrum privileges.

Sweden: 160m frequency gap closed

Swedish amateurs are now allowed to use the full band 1850 – 2000 kHz with secondary status, beside the primary amateur radio allocation 1810 – 1850 kHz. For many years Swedish amateurs were not allowed to use the segment 1850 – 1930 kHz.